Is BeReal safe? How to enhance your security in the app

  • BeReal is protected to make use of, so long as you’re cautious who you ship the photographs to.
  • You should be sure that you don’t embrace any private or delicate info inside your BeReal photographs.
  • BeReal would not take your knowledge greater than some other social media app, like Instagram or Snapchat.

The brand new social media app BeReal has reached the highest of each ‘Most Downloaded Apps’ chart lately. The fundamental idea behind that is that you would be able to solely take one photograph per day, and also you by no means know when that day will occur.

However earlier than you utilize any new social media app – irrespective of how standard it’s – it is best to take time to see whether it is actually protected to make use of.

That is why we have checked out BeReal’s privateness coverage and put collectively this information on each bit of information and knowledge BeReal takes in, the way it compares to different apps, and what you are able to do to remain protected whereas utilizing it.

What kinds of knowledge does BeReal see?

On the whole, we will divide the kind of knowledge that BeReal sees into three classes: Private KnowledgeAnd the Gadget knowledgeAnd the Content material knowledge.

Private Knowledge

To enroll in BeReal, you have to present your title, date of beginning and cellphone quantity. BeReal makes use of this knowledge to determine you if you log in, and whereas solely your title is public, they hold it All knowledge on their servers. It stays on these servers till three years after you final used the app, or till you contact BeReal and request that or not it’s deleted.

In addition they ask you to create a username. This isn’t as private as different items of data, however in case you use the identical username throughout a number of apps, it may be used to seek out these different accounts.

Lastly, BeReal will repeatedly ask you to provide the app entry to your cellphone’s contact record. Doing so will will let you see which of your contacts even have BeReal accounts, so you possibly can simply add them to your pals record – but it surely additionally implies that all of their cellphone numbers might be saved to BeReal servers.

A message in the BeReal app asking the user to allow the app to search their contacts.

BeReal will ask you to look your contact record.

be reasonable; William Antonelli / Insider


BeReal guarantees that it doesn’t give any private info to 3rd events, and there’s no proof that BeReal’s safety is compromised in any manner. However it is best to at all times stay cautious about giving social media firms your info.

Gadget knowledge

When you open BeReal, it routinely is aware of what kind of system you are utilizing, what model of iOS or Android you could have, and your IP handle. That is how most web sites and apps work.

Your IP handle additionally tells BeReal your present public location. However it’s normally no extra particular than town you are in, and you’ll even spoof your IP location with a VPN.

Lastly, BeReal is aware of how usually you open the app. This isn’t very delicate info, however some folks could not prefer to register the app each time they open it.

BeReal retains all this info for 2 years.

Content material knowledge

And now, the large stuff.

Each time you submit a photograph to BeReal, that photograph is saved to BeReal’s servers. The identical goes for any feedback you present or RealMojis – reactions that use an actual image of you – that you just present. They keep there till three years after you final used the app, or till you contact BeReal.

BeReal is not the one one who can save these. Anybody who sees your posts and feedback in BeReal can movie them and doubtlessly share them with others.

That is why you should not add anybody you do not belief as a good friend on BeReal. And in case you’re posting one thing you do not wish to share exterior of your inside circle, do not submit it to the general public discovery web page.

A photo taken in the BeReal app, with the Visibility option highlighted

In case your BeReal submit is ready to “uncover”, it is going to be public.

be reasonable; William Antonelli / Insider


Additionally, be sure to do not unintentionally take an image of something that might get you into bother at work — akin to inner firm spreadsheets or commerce secrets and techniques. Jane Harrison, head of labor regulation at British regulation agency Richard Nelson LLP, even warns that workers who publish delicate work info could possibly be fired or uncovered to authorized dangers.

Whenever you submit a photograph on BeReal, it’ll ask to your present location. This location is shared with BeReal (who retains it for 3 years) and anybody who sees your photograph. It’s by no means a good suggestion to share your actual location on-line, so it’s best to disable this setting.

Taking photos implies that you need to give BeReal entry to the digital camera. And to save lots of photographs, you have to give them entry to your cellphone’s digital camera roll. BeReal is not completely clear about how lengthy they hold this knowledge, but it surely takes at the least two years after you final posted a photograph.

Insider Takeaway: BeReal is Comparatively Secure

It’s true that BeReal takes and shops an acceptable quantity of information. And in case you’re involved concerning the massive firms discovering out about your private info, it most likely is not value creating an account on BeReal.

However within the grand scheme of issues, BeReal is not any extra harmful than some other social media app.

If something, it is safer. Platforms like Fb and Twitter tackle every little thing BeReal does, however in addition they hold an in depth eye on your whole pursuits, political beliefs, search historical past, and even current purchases. In comparison with them, BeReal may be very restricted in scope.

As we talked about earlier than, BeReal has not confronted any form of knowledge breaches to this point. And since you want to enter a novel code every time you log in, your account has quite a lot of regular safety.

If (or when) BeReal provides extra options, this might change. However for now, BeReal is simply as safe — or at the least, as safe as any social media app could be lately.

You possibly can ask BeReal to delete your knowledge early

BeReal retains most of your private info for at the least two years after it was collected, even in case you delete your account. However if you wish to erase this knowledge early, you possibly can ask BeReal to take action.

To contact BeReal, you possibly can both ship an electronic mail to contact@bere.alor you possibly can ship an electronic mail to BeReal, 30/32 boulevard de Sébastopol, 75004 Paris France.

There isn’t a assure that they are going to obey each request, however they fight to answer each request.

restrict the knowledge that BeReal can see

Not all knowledge you need BeReal is necessary. This implies that you would be able to enhance your privateness by limiting what BeReal can see.

In case you are utilizing an iPhone, open the Settings app and scroll all the way down to the Apps record, then choose be reasonable. Right here you possibly can flip off BeReal location permissions and entry to your contacts and digital camera.

In your Android system, open the Settings app and faucet appsafter which All appsafter which be reasonable. Faucet Permissionsand you’ll select whether or not you’re allowed to entry your digital camera, contacts, location, and extra.

Pages on both iPhone and Android allow you to choose how much BeReal will have on your phone.

Each iPhone and Android will let you change the entry settings in BeReal.

William Antonelli / Insider


Simply be aware that you just technically want to provide BeReal entry to the digital camera to make use of many of the app – you possibly can’t submit photographs or see different folks’s photographs with out it.